Bid decision !!!!!!!!!!!!

Rubo4

I'm just getting started in composing music - my scene is Psy Trance/Techno. I'm using a PC PIII -550/ 280 Ram ( with dual motherboard) will add another CPU if my system doesn't hold up. I also have an Ensoniq Fizmo Synth and I'm getting a microwave xt in a month. Now the big question is Soundcard. Which one would be best suited for electronic music? I won't be recording guitars and other instruments just a couple of synth and then FX processor maybe. Could you please give advise and experience on the following cards which features are good and for what:

1) Echo - Mona, Layla 24, Gina 24, Darla 24

2) Digidesign - Digi 001

3) Midiman - Delta 66 0r 1010

4) RME - Hammerfall 9652 ( the one I'm really interested )

Also could you suggest an online store with cheap prices? Is there a site like http://www.gearprice.com but only for soundcards and MIDI Interface?

And what the hell is an A/D converter - what do you use it for?

P.S. Somebody offered me a Korg 1212 for $100 - is it a good deal? Is the card any good?

Thanks, Boris

Boris,
an A/D converter? It means analog to digital.
All soundcards do that, it means playing into
a mic, then the converter turns your music into
zeros and ones, computer talk.

Some A/D converters, like Apogee, get really insanely
expensive, but the ones in a decent soundcard are
fine for home recording.

If you are just doing synth recording, all those
soundcards will work great, find an inexpensive
one. I looked up the Korg 1212 for ya.It is older
and discontinued, and it is a long PCI card.
It is 16 bit, where most cards now are 24 bit.
I would pass, but it is a good price.
Cheers,David

Now those A/d converters are they built in the sound card or you have to add it. Also is it only analog to digital or can you do digital to analog too.