Audio Interface for a Newbie - Be gentle!

daveyboy909

Hi guys,

Before I start I just want you to know that I have spent a fair amount of time researching this. I knew absolutely nothing about it a month ago. I have read through a lot of reviews and forums and I have gone through a lot of threads on here and on other sites too, but I thought I would make my own thread in the hope that someone can help with my specific needs!

What I already have
Yamaha MG166cx mixing desk (not the USB version)
Roland RD700sx digital piano
Roland DM 2100 speaker system
2 Yamaha MSR400 speakers
Sennheiser e835s microphone (I know dynamic mics aren't ideal for recording but I am prepared to go with it just now)
Adobe Audition

A dell xps M1330 laptop (2048MB 667MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM [2x1024], Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T7250 (2.00 GHz, 2 MB L2 cache, 800 MHz FSB))

What I will be Doing
I am not a computer expert - not anywhere near it. I just play my digital piano and write songs for my small band. The band consists of me, a drummer who also plays guitar and a bass player.

I will usually be using the audio interface to record myself playing my digital piano and vocals, sometimes at the same time and sometimes separately overdubbing the vocals. Other band members may also play at the same time or overdub their part. This is where my requirement for a very low latency piece of hardware comes in.

I would also like to be able to edit each track e.g. volume etc separately even if I have recorded them at the same time. According to the Audio Interface Wizard, this means I would need several analogue outputs. (Although this is not completely necessary)

My mixer could be used for the preamps and for submixing frums etc but I would prefer to just use the audio interface for portability reasons. I may not bother with drums on some recordings anyway.

What I want