Stu and Kev - "Fred is Dead"

You can turn up the heartbeat kick a bit. You could add a bit of air to the vocal during the verses if you wanted to see what that sounds like.

I love how you start this off sounding like the Dead and then morph into Floyd territory later on.

I like the tune and the musicianship / playing is great..I for some reason thought of PF time and as I listened to your mix I wondered what was bugging me...I'm no engineer...just a dumb piano man but I decided to listen to the separation / placement of instruments in PF time and in your tune and a huge difference...not to say there's is right or yours is wrong just a whole different approach.

I heard someone say listen to recordings you really like and play them back to back or back n forth with what you are mixing... It was interesting doing that with Time and your tune...

Take a listen ..Fricking Alan Parsons was a fledgling lucky mofo to get the opportunity to mix this album and put him on the map as a genius..I'm not so sure it was him or the music but the album has kind of sold well over the years..

Interesting because I was never really into Floyd or Parsons like I was other bands. I liked their stuff a lot but I never bought any of either's albums. It's tone and melody that grab me so I keyed into both bands. The ending lead solo on Eye in the Sky, for instance, that sticks out as the primary aspect of that song...tone and melody. The orchestrated instrumental beginnings of most Floyd songs are appealing...they grab me right away. I like their use of space. All this time I didn't know Alan Parsons engineered it and got Clare Torry to do those vocals. Very cool.

Last edited:
You can turn up the heartbeat kick a bit. You could add a bit of air to the vocal during the verses if you wanted to see what that sounds like.

I love how you start this off sounding like the Dead and then morph into Floyd territory later on.

I need to get that kick up....I know...still not sure what happened.