Pop tune - Here I go again`

seansigep

Hey guys,

www.soundclick.com/seanscogin

Track is Here I go again.

My real questions here are:
Does anyone have any suggestions for mixing the backing vocals? I have found this to be a daunting task, one with which I am not satisfied. All i did to distinguish it was cut the high end out, put extra reverb on it, and quiet it down by 1 or 2 dbs.
How do the drums sit in the mix?
Are the vocals too loud?
Does the square root of 9.9 equal 3.3?

I really appreciate everyone listening. Please feel free to provide feedback on the quality of song, too. (like, "this song blows" or "nice lyrics" or "im gonna kick your buttox into oblivion for wasting 3 minutes of my life")

Scogs

Cool tune. Overall enjoyable song.

Backup vox: I'd say sing them in a higher octave. Preferrably twice higher. Or in a thin girly voice like the 80s. Then PAN the vox 10% left and right during areas where they are both singing. I'm not an expert on mixing vox so just throwing out ideas. :)

Bass: The bass is a little rumbly. Muddy. Maybe cut around 200-400Hz generously. That's what I do to ruin most of my songs. :D

Solo: Around 1:49. Boost the volume more and add more high-end. :) The solo shouldn't be overshadowed by the rhythm guitar. You can lower the rhythm guitar in this part also. :)

Rhythm Guitar: A little dull sounding. Maybe add air. :) On second though, fix the bass first and then see how it sounds. Maybe lower the volume by a couple of db.

Drums: I'm not a drummer and don't know much about mixing drums. But these sound good to me. :)

Tune: Nice tune. Even catchy.

seansigep
I like evrything in thsi classic powerpop piece EXCEPT the guitar sound.
A good song, nice hooks, good dynamics just the guitar sounds are light metal ordinary. A cranked amp would have sufficed - in fact done a great deal better for the song . I agree with bigbubba regarding the bass.
Yep, good, very good all round except.
Cheers
rayc