Please help me improve this mix! "This Is Not a Snipe Hunt"

Hot_Mess

Hi everyone,

I am new to recording and mixing. I just downloaded Logic a couple months ago and here is the result. ("This Is Not a Snipe Hunt", first song.)

https://soundcloud.com/jessicazin

I would really appreciate any pointers to help me improve.

Maybe I'll do another post to outline all the things I hear wrong with it. I'm sure I'll be missing a lot!

Here's my self-critique:
On the positive, I like my lyrics and melody.
I think the I like the arrangement.

Negatives:
I fear the effects I added to my voice are unpleasant to listen to. I felt they were necessary because I'm a female and because of the type of song it is. What do you think?

Midi guitar? I guess this is frowned upon but it sounds ok to me. I fear it won't sound ok to most people?

Overall the song sounds kind of mushy. Too many tracks?

The vocals go up and down in volume a lot esp. in the first verse, even though I used compression. Probably I was moving closer and farther from the mic? I think I'll have to rerecord them cause I don't know how to fix it.

I watched some youtube video about panning and gave it a shot. Any feedback on this?

Thanks so much for your time!--Jessica