Please critique recording of our song "The Quiet Hours"

Dream Parade

:) Hello everyone, this is my first post to Home Recording dot com.
I'm looking for your advice ,and an honest critique of the recording quality
of our song "The Quiet Hours".Any tips on how i could make this better would
be much appreciated.The song was written for submission to a local tv series
who were looking for music for their show .I'm fairly new to recording ,and
we did this in my home studio.Thank again.

The song is posted on the Soundclick website at:

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/0/gliemmusic.htm

Love the vocalist and acoustic guitar. The lead guitar sounds out of place in volume and tone. The vocals sound pro, so does the acoustic guitar. Nice song, a little slow. The only thing I can say about the song is that the chorus doesn't distinguish itself from the rest of the song. Kinda all flows together.

Is the acoustic guitar miced with a dynamic, or perhaps run directly into the console/pre? It doesn't sound very natural. Love the bass lines in the intro. Distorted guitar lines are cool, too.

The vocalist is outstanding but she's a bit too loud in the mix. It sort of sounds like karaoke. Like she's singing on top of a backing track. Carve out some room for her vocals. It's going to be tough because she has such a strong voice. Make use of the entire sonic spectrum. May have to really pan some stuff hard to get it to fit.

Great song. Outstanding vocals. Instrument performances are very good as well. I'd try to get some warmth in the acoustic guitar, and work on setting the vox in the mix a bit better.

Incredible potential on this one.

SilverSurfer-thanks i'm glad you liked it .I know the lead tone is
unorthodox i like it that way ,however i may experiment a
little.The song is more about mood and it was meant to
flow together it was written as background music for a tv
series who wanted slow atmospheric singer/songwritter stuff.thanks for listening. :)