Need mentoring in mixing

Janalex

Hi,

This is essentially my first post here.

I'm relatively new to the world of recording but I'm extremely passionate and dedicated. I'm a guitarist of 25 years and have been writing stuff the entire time but now I've been unfortunate to acquire some nice pro audio equipment and finally have the opportunity and time to record. Music is in the classic rock genre and I'm trying to use as much analog gear as possible to approximate the sound I love. However, there's only so far one can get without any formal audio engineering training and I'm looking for some objective, constructive, detailed, and specific feedback for how to take my mixes to the next level prior to mastering. I'm looking for an experienced mentor of sorts who has experience with this kind of music and maybe even worked in it as well as knows how it should sound prior to mastering to get the best product. Please PM info if available and I can share files with you. I'm not sure if this can be successfully done online or whether anyone is in the NY city area.

Hi,

This is essentially my first post here.