First Ever Mix- Just a part of a song I wrote called Lust

5TARME

https://soundcloud.com/dylan-weill-201290749/mix
This is my first time mixing, I just started a day ago I am using a rode NT1 into the 2i2. Critisim on the mix would be great thanks. I am aware that the synths overpower the lead vocals a bit I am going to fix that. I'm planning on recording a full project so I'd like to hear what you guys think of the mix.

I'm not an expert in this genre and the clip was very short.

But I thought your singing voice was very nice. The vocal is lacking a little clarity. I would back off the stereo effects just a little bit. The stereo sounded cool, but I think it was a bit too heavy. Did you put any EQ on the vocal? It's a little tough to make out. Additionally lowering the synth a bit would help - you probably only need to lower it by a db or two.

Thank you for the compliment! The vocal is EQ'd quite a bit to get the sound i was looking for. I do agree It is a little too heavy and will try to make the vocals clearer.

The big things that jumped out to me were that the snare is too quiet, and the vocal fades in and out of audibility.
The former can be addressed by turning it up, obviously. The latter can probably be helped with some compression.

The big things that jumped out to me were that the snare is too quiet, and the vocal fades in and out of audibility.
The former can be addressed by turning it up, obviously. The latter can probably be helped with some compression.

By the snare you meant turning up the beat correct? The vocal fading is a flanger stereo effect I'm using on purpose to achieve a spaced out kind of sound. Thanks for the advice!

Yeah the vocals sound good just too much in and out...plus maybe too much low end...roll of low frequencies should help. Post more of the song so we can help you better.