Bluegrass On The Cheap

Harvey Gerst

Here's a song "Cricket", written by an old friend of mine, Byron Berline.

The mics on the Guitar, Banjo, and Madolin are all Niant Omnis, made by HR member mshilarious.

The Fender bass was run through an old 15 Watt Ross amplifier, and the bass mic was a Soundstar MkII.

All done in one take.
View attachment 11-Cricket.mp3

NO WAY!!!
whats the chances.....honest to god...I literally just walked in the door not more then 30 minutes ago, from watching a bluegrass band...anyway, honest to god, I just got done telling the ole lady about this guy who`s a member of a music forum I joined, and how I was tempted to ask him what the easiest way to get atleast a "decent" recording of a bluegrass band would be..(I`m an absolute newbie to recording..nothing like jumping in the fire right off the bat ehh....LOL)
see.. my elderly father is pretty sick, and really wanting me to get some decent footage, and also some recordings of his friends bluegrass band...it certainly does`nt have to be the quality of what I`m listenning to right now..which is your link, cause that just ain`t gona happen..LOL..but rather, just get a half way decent sounding something for my dad to listen to at home, who most defiantly does`nt know anything about recording etc..I could probley just get away with what I got on video tape tonight LOL, but I would like to try and do a little better..I know the band members pretty good, and have an open invite to their practices..so setting something up, would`nt be that big of a deal to them..
anyway, sorry to drag this on..but oddley enough, the first post I seen after hitting "new post" was by you, and about a bluegrass band..
Excellent!!

I was going to post a link to some of the video I took tonght, but I`m having technical issue`s doing so right now..
anyway, the band basically stood around an AGK condensor mic, except for the bass player who had a mic mounted under the bottom bridge, and ran off to a small board..