Question for the mastering engineers

BrettB

Hi all,

I have a question for the mastering engineers among you.

This spring, I recorded and mixed the single of my band (you can download it at www.madralyss.be) in a pretty good studio and had it mastered by a professional.

When I mixed it, I had a pretty good feel about the mix. But after it wat mastered I felt I had lost balance. While I had a great feel on the balance of the drums during mixng, suddenly the hihat seemed way louder and the snare had lost it's bottom.

I don't blame the mastering engineer, he made a good master and added the high to the song it needed! But this really effected my mix.

Since then I often mix with a EQ on my master track adding a bit more sparkle and hi-end on my mix; I also often bypass it, but having this EQ gives me the certainty my mix won't soun dradically different after mastering EQ.

My question: What do you think of this method? Is it reasonable or not?

I think it's pretty acceptable for the most part - I'd "rather" have the EQ applied to whatever track(s) need it during (or before) the mix.

My little "rule of thumb" is 2dB of anything. If it needs more than 2dB - EQ Boost, cut, compression gain reduction, etc., it's probably something that would be better utilized in the mix.

Of course, no "rules" - that's just something I try to adhere to myself.

It's certainly not unusual to get recordings in with notes like "I love the highs - If you can try to keep them just the way it is..." and such. So, if mixing it in is what the mix needs, go for it.

If you have a relationship with the mastering engineer you could ask him what in your mix made it so that he felt he needed to raise the highs.

Maybe the vocals were muddy/not cutting through? If so, treat your vocals different next time. Maybe he needed more high end out of the guitar? Now you know to try a different approach on the guitar tracks.