One other question, mastering?

reco

I have been making songs for 10+ years now and recording for 6 of them.
I can get pretty good mixes and good sounds and such but....... I have one problem with the mixes: The loudness.
They dont have that punch and drive that alot records like for example APerfectCircles last album.......
What can I do to improve this?
I have waves plugins and also have wavelab and t-racks.......
Thanks
-Reco

If it was only just that simple. LOL

If you have Waves, then what do you mostly use it for now?

I played with the Effects and Verbs this past weekend for the first time.

I'd throw T Racks away. I've tried it many times and I have a VERY low opinion of it. If you have the Waves bundle, there's some compressors in there that will do the trick as far as getting some "ass" into your recordings (Ultra Maximizer, RCL, etc).

Ok, so you wanna join the loudness wars? Well, I guess we all have to, to some extent. The stakes have been raised, for better or worse (worse), and now if you don't play along, your mixes sound wimpy. Lost along the way, of course, was dynamics, until now what we have is a big square shaped waveform that starts loud, ends loud, and makes the ear lose interest along the way. But, alas, that's the state of things, so we have to deal with reality today. Myself, I refuse to push it all the way, just enough to compete, but not win and lose all the dynamics in the process.