OK. Is this the most crazy thing you ever heard?

JerryD

Hi all,

I'm a newbie and I don't know shit.

OK, now that's out of the way. I like the Mackie HR824 monitors.
I can only afford one at the moment. In 6 months I can purchase the other one no problem. Since I don't pan anything anyway and I'm new, wouldn't it be better if I buy just one Mackie monitor now and start using it. Then in 5 or 6 months get the other one in lieu of purchasing two monitors now that I don't really like?

Is this a stupid idea just to buy one monitor? Since I don't pan anything wouldn't the left and right outputs be identical anyway?

Note: Right now I'm using headphones and 1 monitor would be a step up. Especially this one.

If your goal is to make mono recordings, then listening in mono is just fine.

However, with music, our ears have been spoiled by a 40 year history of listening to stereo recordings. If you are seriously trying to market or distribute your music to the public (or anyone), it will be difficult to compete with strictly monophonic recordings.

Buy the best pair of monitor speakers you can afford now, keep in mind regardless how good or bad your speakers are, as long as you listen to reference cd's (or your favorite band's cds..) you can tell how your music compares. Actually, headphones, cheap to decent speakers is not a bad combination for mixing. The key is to break often, listen to someone else's music for a bit and come back at it. It gives your ears a break, and helps them recover from listening to your "tone" too much. :)

THanks

Yeah you guys are right. I think I will buy a set us speakers I"m comfortable with and start switching back and forth between them and the headphonses. Maybe if pan something :)

I was wondering now that I"m really getting into this. Where can you find real high quality songs (digital) to compare to what ever I'm doing. Does anyone have really good sample songs that they use to compare???

Or will a mp3 converted to a wav suffice?