Noob Needs Room/Sound Advice

blackscot

All my recordings are thin and anemic compared to anything professional sounding (including a lot of the stuff you guys are posting here!!!). I would really like to get the kind of full, huge sound that so far has been lacking, and wonder how much my mixing environment is holding me back.

I'm a hobbyist working in the proverbial spare bedroom, which in my case is about 12 ft x 12 ft, and generally empty. Other than my guitars and amp, PC and peripherals (all of my non-guitar production is synth/MIDI), there's just a wooden table, a couple of furniture cabinets, a small-ish braided rug, and my dog's bed.

All performance is instrumental in one form or another and without any vocals, and everything is direct input to the PC via an Mbox. So tuning the room for miking isn't an issue. It's the play-back for mixing I'm struggling with.

I have some latitude in how to handle the room, but also with limits. My wife isn't likely going to be too keen on paneling the walls and ceiling with accoustic foam. Most non-permanent arrangements could probably be lobbied for though. I'd really appreciate getting any basic considerations on room configuration, placement of equipment, monitors, etc.

And speaking of which, I really suspect the effect of my current monitors, which are a very cheapie (I think they were $99 for the pair) now out-of production model by Roland. I finally got them off the floor onto some decent stands, but wonder how much improvement something say in the $300/pair range would get me.

Thanks.

In a generally "square" room, you're going to have low end problems that are much worse than in a rectangular room (which will only have substantial problems).

I'd get some sort of bass trapping in the corners - Start with the rears if you can't hit all four at a time.

www.realtraps.com -- www.johnlsayers.com -- www.gikacoustics.com