Need advice on this Mix!!!

vegashead

Hey,

Longtime snooper, first time poster. I've recorded by band using ProTools LE interface and veresion 6.2(?) software. I have little experience with mixing, other than the bits and pieces I can get off these boards, and I'm having trouble mixing the project.

Click HERE to hear the song. Obviously, the mix needs some work, but I swear that it sounds so much better before I mix it down.

EQ suggestions?? does it need more compression?? what can I do about that vocal?? Any and all advice is very much appreicated....Please help!!

Last edited:
Bring the drums up front, pan those hats, compress the bass a lot and maybe slightly compress the mix to give it a better "hold".

By "bring the drums up front," do you mean I should use EQ to make them come out of the mix or boost the level? My problem is that when I boost the drum tracks levels, my master levels peak for the entire song...

vegashead said:
By "bring the drums up front," do you mean I should use EQ to make them come out of the mix or boost the level? My problem is that when I boost the drum tracks levels, my master levels peak for the entire song...

Turn everything else down then......

Makes sense. Are drums normally the loudest tracks? Most of my track faders are between +3 and -10. Is this too high? My recording levels were high.

My fear is that the track sounds quiet as it is, even though I've got no headroom left on the master track. It seems cutting the volume back on the instruments would make the track even softer.

Thanks for the help.

the only thing i can hear from the drums is the hats and cymbals.

the whole track seems a bit muddy, try adding a bit of high end on the whole lots. nice vocal take! the keys sound fine, the guitar track is a little muddy again, there's also something playing panned far left thats go some weird sort of flangy-wah-ish effect, which i think is too loud, it covers quite a lot of stuff.