Mixing/EQing slap bass.

SeanDuross

I am a bassist who has recently started dabbling in home digital recording (I'm currently using a trial copy of Adobe Audition - the bastard stepchild of Cool Edit). Of course I would love for one of you to just put the rest of your life on hold and explain everything I need to know about mixing and mastering, but in the event that doesn't happen a distant second would be some pointers on bringing the slap bass out in the mix. Apparently, just cranking it up isn't the panacea I'd hoped (okay, I was looking for an excuse to use the word "panacea" in a sentence) - yeah I can hear it then but it sounds like crap! How's about some real-world nuts and bolts: Effects (Audition has a nice preset "Tighter Bass" on its compression, and I usually put a light Bass Chorus (about 30% wet) on it too, stereo positioning and expanding and, perhaps most importantly, parametric EQing (I'm talking real numbers here: freq's, Q's, amt of boost/cut). Please grant a pearl of wisdom to a noob - who knows? You might get me to lay some bass lines down for you. You can check out some of my recent abominations, er, I mean attempts at recording at http://www.myspace.com/seanduross.

Thanks fellow music-makers!

Hey.

The importance of getting your sound EXACTLY how you want it BEFORE you record cannot be overstated. Start there. Once you get your ideal sound from your bass and amp, work on mic placement. I suggest an MD421 since slap bass is most dependant on snappy highs and detailed mids. once you get placement down (you hear in your headphones EXACTLY what you want to hear), then record and screw around with effects.

Good luck. :)

what type of music? rockabilly-type stuff?

I would ditch the chorus and stereo expander stuff. Typically, its best to put bass right down the middle. You should probably concentrate more on EQ and tone. Compression will probably help if you set it correctly...