Mastering for non-engineers

odiwgal

First I want to say that I'm a very experienced musician, but relatively new to home recording. I'm also new to this discussion site, and WOW...there are some really talented and knowledgeable folks here. This is a terrific resource!

Now, on to my questions. I am tring to get a handle on the mastering process. I'm lost on the details of just what it takes to end up with a finished product that's suitable for burning to CD. Now, I realize that the ideal situation would be to take a mixed version of a project to a mastering house where it could be transformed into something special, but I'm interested in just what can be done in my own studio.

First things first. Is this what happens before mastering?:
1. Record dry tracks that sound as close to what you want as possible (factors being mic selection and placement, levels)
2. Tweak tracks by adding EQ, effects, compression, etc.
3. Mix down to stereo
4. Master the mixed stereo WAV file.
5. Burn to CD

Is that the right order?

On the mastering part, what's typical? It seems that alot of people here are using Wavelab. What exactly are you doing? Mainly compression and normalization?

Any specific mastering techniques for computer-based recording would be HIGHLY appreciated. Or if this has been discussed before here, pointers to threads.

Thanks again...GREAT site.

i think a lot depends on what your purpose for recording is
if just for yourself/few friends you can probably get away with minimal mastering using a home setup

if aimimg for more broad release a mastering house can be invaluable to put the final touches on a project.

maybe the most important aspect of mastering is to let an experienced set of ears listen to your project and go from there...
hope this helps some...there are some good articles on Home Rec home page