Home Recording a Band Demo

Deaconblue

Hi,

I am currently a guitarist in a rock/jazz band, as well as the mixer of the songs we record. I have a good basic amount of knowledge about recording techniques, mixing, etc. so I want to be able to self-record my band's Demo Cd using my own equipment and editing software. Even though it is a Demo cd, I still want to make it sound as professional as possible, so I want to know if anyone here has any tips or advice on how to plan and record an album on your own? I specifically have a few questions about how to master the recording:

1. Does anyone have any tips on how to reduce distortion in a recording, but still make the recording loud?

2. Is it possible to a degree to master a recording on your own and if not are their any companies you recommend that can master a recording for a good price?

3. When I mix a song, how loud should I be mixing at? Do I mix at a normal loudness, or try to mix at the highest volume so that the final recording sounds loud?

Thanks,

Deaconblue

You really need to focus on making the mixes sound good before you worry about mastering. Also, do you really want to bother mastering something that's simply a demo? From just the few things you said it seems like you may end up setting yourself up for disappointment. Go over to www.tweakheadz.com and read the guide. It's very extensive and can really really help you figure out some things you may be misinformed about.

PS When mixing, you want to leave plenty of headroom for the Mastering Engineer. However for a demo, I'd just get the over mix decently loud(without clipping) and leave it at that.

(they call me) Deaconblue :),