FX effects on mixing vocals

nyhgan

Hi all,

This is my first post on HomeRecording BBS.

I am very new to audio mixing and I am wondering how the members on this forum mix their vocals. Currently, I apply the FX effects on my vocal in the following order.

1. Waves C4 -- to EQ vocal
2. Waves L2 -- to raise the volume
3. UltraFunx Compressor -- to compress the vocal
4. Waves L2 -- to bring up the the volume again
5. Waves TrueVerb -- add reverb
7. Waves LinMB -- EQ again.

When I listen to my mix, I feel that the vocal and the accompany music don't blend well. They should like they were recorded from two different places.

So, what kind of FX effects do you use when you mix vocals? Do these effects have to apply in a particular order?

Last edited:
If your vocal isn't sitting well with your mix, it looks like it's cause you're overprocessing it. I would reduce that chain by three:

First take out one of the EQs. Track it right to begin with, you shouldn't need that much EQ.

Second, take out both L2s. Why do you need to raise your volume so much? Record it loud to begin with. Moreover, I'm not familiar with that compressor, but all compressors I've ever seen have a make-up gain, so you can raise your level right from there.

That's three already. Can't give much more advice without hearing your tracks.

Hmmm..I don't normally have to EQ vocals. Just a bit of compression. That's it. As far as verb or delay, whatever the tune suggests. About as crazy as I get is a pitch transposer tuned down about .25% for that Ozzie sound.

Welcome to the board :)

First off: FX effects is double ;)

I would say that is way to much processing than needed in by far most situations. I'll try to explain why:

1. Waves C4 -- to EQ vocal