EQ Resonance

ecs113

I recorded a friend playing acoustic guitar tonight. While editing the clip (for practice, learning and experience), I noticed a "ringing" (resonance?) at a certain frequency. I determined the frequency to be around 932Hz, which corresponds to B (note: he often played chords including the open B string). I notch cut at 932Hz and listened again; it sound MUCH better. I noticed another "ringing" frequency, and I made an educated guess that it was around 466Hz (another B), which it was. I notched that, and again, it sounded much better.

I used an MXL 2001 about a foot away from the sound hole (is that the problem, the fact that it was aimed at the sound hole, thus the resonance?).

I am new to recording and want to learn the nature of this discovery. What is the meaning of this octave resonance? Would I find that if I cut more octaves of B, it would sound even better? What is the source of this problem?

Thank you in advance. Yes, I did a search (for: octave + frequency) and could find nothing specific.

Comb

Oh yeah, I noticed that if I kept notching at the octaves, the result would resemble a comb filter. Is this correct?

Well, my understanding is that you're dealing with overtones of a powerful tone. The B is really strong on your friend's guitar.

Notching is fine if there's a bad problem sound, but let me share something with you. I learned how to sweep frequencies looking for unpleasant sounds at particular frequencies, and so I went to town and starting doing it with every track I recorded. Got some good results. Okay. One day, after I'd notched a number of frequencies on a number of tracks in a particular song, I happened by accident to play the orginal version of the song *before* I'd started mixing and notching. The original sounded *clearly* better.

I'm not saying don't notch. I'm saying don't notch if you don't absolutely have to. Every time you notch, it takes something away. It's cosmetic surgery, not enhancement.