Do you ever bounce drums to one stereo track?

FattMusiek

Do you guys ever bounce your drum tracks (however many you've got going at once) down to one stereo track? Is this a common practice in professional mixing? From my own experience it seems to enable me to achieve a more refined, processed, and compressed tone. What do you guys have to say about it?

The only time I ever did that was with old 4 and 8 tracks.
With software that has more than enough tracks, I see no need to mix them down during the mixing process. That would just complicate things should I want to change something with the drum mix.

If it's the universal control of all the drums at once you like, maybe assign the drum tracks to a buss.

Well I'm no professional, but I usually create a drummix and use it for parallel compression alongside the original tracks

FattMusiek said:
Do you guys ever bounce your drum tracks down to one stereo track? Is this a common practice in professional mixing?
I do it all the time. In most of my stuff I treat the drum kit as a single large instrument, not as a group of distinct instruments. I don't seperately mix toms and snares and hats in the main mix any more than I seperately mix the six individual strings on a guitar.

G.

I would always use 2 tracks just so you can still get your stereo seperation. You use one all the panning you just did is scrapped.

killmachine said:
I would always use 2 tracks just so you can still get your stereo seperation. You use one all the panning you just did is scrapped.
Ah, you're right, kill; I misread the original question. I mix down to dual mono tracks, not to a single stereo track. In fact, there are extremely few situations where I'll use a stereo track at all.

G.

Two mono tracks huh? You'd do anything to the left mixed down to one mono track and everything to the right on another?

FattMusiek said:
Two mono tracks huh? You'd do anything to the left mixed down to one mono track and everything to the right on another?