Some stuff for you to practice your mixing

I really love the energy of this song...great tune and a good raw recording. Sorry the file is so big. I left it as a full 24bit /48k wav. file for those that don't like mp3's.

Dropbox - Trouble.wav

Last edited:
I decided to post an mp3 of the song to dropbox to make it easier to preview. Any feedback is welcomed and appreciated.

Last edited:
Hi, I took the challenge! This sort of stuff is way out of my comfort zone. I am a complete DIY amateur who has mixed hardcore punk bands - which usually means raw, no-frills, in-your-face sort of basic "bluff-my-way-through" mixing stuff. So I took this as a fun challenge. I would very much appreciate constructive criticism? Seriously, the harsher the better! :eatpopcorn: If you can't be arsed, that's cool too! :D I tend to prefer dry, bright mixes. Although I put some delay on the vocs. I did like her voice, she's very good. Thanks for the practice tracks!

Trouble

Hi mxw,

thanks for sharing your mix ! I can imagine that this is way different than mixing hard core punk. I have never mixed any other music than the music made by the bands I played in. And that tends to be more soul/funk oriented. A friend of mine was into punk a lot back in the days and if I think of his music than I agree that a no-frills attitude towards mixing it is probably the way to go (I'm also a DYI amateur btw, so it's just my opinion). Since there's a lot of guitar, bass and drums energy going on, reverb and other effects would just wash away the attack and b*lls the music needs.

About your mix of trouble; i agree with gecko about the delay and bass. I think you overdid both. Maybe you could add a high pass filter to the bass in order to remove some of the boomyness ? And cut some frequencies where the kick and bass overlapp the most.
The rest of the mix was pretty nice I think. I listened on both headphones and monitors and both sounded fine :-)

Hi Keith,

you too thanks for the mix !