setting up new home studio

mikethekiwi

Have also posted this in newbie forum by the way......cheers

Have just recently been pointed in this direction by a mate to your forum - wow, I never knew that this existed – its dam amazing!!! A wealth of information - have enjoyed reading through the various threads. I would like to pick your brains if I may for a tick to try and clarify a few things for me. I am relatively new to recording on a PC so please excuse my lack of knowledge.

I am a musician, into all sorts of music and have recently started up a hip hop recording project. I am currently playing around on a basic set up - a nasty pc with reason and a cheap version of logic, house speakers etc but am now wanting to upgrade to some decent gear that would enable us to record to a semi profssional quality with the view of then getting someone to do the mastering it for us. Our budget is about $8000 to $10,000 NZ (including computer) which is about $5000 to $6000 in US dollars.

While the genre of choice is hip hop based, we will be placing a large emphasis on the recording of guitars and bass guitar, vox, and other instruments so audio recording quality is just as important as midi – and will be doing other genre of music also. We would like to continue to use Reason as we have been, and we could look at getting other instruments added later on.

I have basically been given 2 options by our local retailers – Pro Tools with the M Box soundcard, and Cubase SL. Based on what I have been told, this particular version of Protools is not that good compared to Cubase, is apparently a bit of a toy - we have been told good things about Cubase so Cubase seems to be way to go.