recording quality vs. synth quality

ifpo238

One of the things I liked about the Aardvark Direct Pro was that it looked like I was going to be able to get by without a mixer. (I think it even does phantom power for mics!) I generally record one track at a time - sometimes 2 - and mix with Cakewalk.

Is there not a good synth sound card out there? If there's not a huge price difference, I'd rather not buy external synth equipment. I'm a computer nerd, and much more comfortable with computer-based stuff. DIs, mixers, rackware, and (gasp!) tape all give me a rash. ;-)

-j

I'm new at this stuff. I've used Cakewalk to create a CD. Used an $11 Wal-Mart computer mic for vocals and electric guitar and used the cheap sound card that came with my machine. Used the cheap sound card's built in synth for drums, bass, and keyboard parts. Needless to say, my recording quality is less than stellar.

I realize now that I need good microphones and a good sound card. I've researched the sound cards out there, and the ones that seem geared towards recording don't mention much in their marketing materials about the onboard synthesizer (if there is one).

Questions:

Is the the AARK Direct Pro shipping?
Does it has a synth?
If I want to use a soundcard for drum, bass, keyboard, and other parts, do I want a sound card with a wavetable synthesizer?
Should I care about Roland compatibility?
Can I get good mic recording and good synthesis in the same card, or do I need 2 cards?

I appreciate any and all advice. I've decided to drop the bones to do this right; I just need to figure out what doing this right means. Thanks!

-j

I don't know how many bones you want to let go, so I'll just list a couple of recomendations for you... you can shop around and find the exact gear that will fit your budget.