Help - recording acoustic guitar - panels

conamor

Hi,
Sorry, might have heard that question thousand times... I am new to all this.

I was wondering why when I record my acoustic guitar using at2035 and focusrite 2i2 with garage band, I hear my recording on the right side only.
I manage to copy the track, set one to mono 1 and the other to mono 2 and then switch mono 1 to completely right and the other one to the left... Is this the proper way to do it?

On my focusrite, my input one for microphone has Line/Inst, should I use inst for acoustic guitar (not plugged)? How about the voice? Does it go in Line or Inst again?

In a room of 10x10 ft, should I use any acoustic panels? I was thinking of buying auralex roominator d36 or this isn't necessary?

Thanks for all the help!

If you're hearing one side only, it sounds like you need to change the setting in GB to mono, selecting either 1 or 2, depending on which the guitar is plugged into. (Open the track info window (Command I if you aren't seeing it on the right of your track) and you'll be able to change it. If you don't see your interface option listed under "Input Source", then you'll need to go into preferences and make sure GB sees it. (Prefs > Audio/MIDI. Change your Audio Input if necessary)

Your voice mic should be switched to Line, and your guitar should be Inst. Wait...I re-read your post. Are you saying your guitar is not plugged in? Are you using one mic to record voice and guitar at the same time?

Buying panels...well, I'll let someone who uses panels answer that.

I'll try to do the change in GB, I will be recording separate track for vocal and guitar. I don't think I can record both at the same time, with 2 mics, 1 will pickup the other sound...

I'll try to do the change in GB, I will be recording separate track for vocal and guitar. I don't think I can record both at the same time, with 2 mics, 1 will pickup the other sound...