does sample rate matter to a coaxial/optical converter?

hawaiianshirt

the jerk at the board
So I have a Fostex D2424LV with an optical out, and an Audiophile 2496 with a coaxial in. I need a converter (until I can get an ADAT capable soundcard anyway...).

Less expensive converters don't mention sample rates at all. M-Audio has a $50 bi-directional solution in this category that would suit me just fine.

But Hosa has a bi-directional converter that mentions a 24bit 96k maximum for $75. What gives?

Does sample rate even matter to a converter? Or does Hosa just know that if you slap "24bit/96k" on any product, you can charge more for it. Could I sell a 24bit/96k milkshake for $8?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Last edited:
That's certainly what Dan Lavry thinks at least with reference to Sampling rate:

http://www.lavryengineering.com/documents/Sampling_Theory.pdf

I'm no expert on this by any means but having messed around with recording at different bit lengths and sample rates and having read around the subject a fair bit I've come to the following conclusions:

There is a noticeable difference recording at 24 bit over 16 bit. I find that I get good levels without having to record too hot so the noise floor is lowered and the risk of clipping is reduced.

There is nothing to be gained from recording at a sampling rate above 44.1hz. This is backed up by the research paper written by Dan lavry.

Hence I tend to record at 24/44.1

If you need ADAT-optical (lightpipe) to coax, you're looking for something more complex than an optical-coax converter, which is only intended to convert between simple stereo TOSlink (optical) and S/Pdif (coax). Something to select which 2 tracks in the ADAT stream to convert is needed. I confess I don't know what will do this, just a hunch that something like the RME4DD can?