Developing step-by-step approach to recording music using computers

igbalm

Could someone help me on the following basis which I am sure would useful for may others

I have installed windows 95
I have installed my particular sequencing program
Without judging the merits of my soundcard what specs does the card need
What is ASIO
What is Full duplex
Does the particular sound card need to be compatible with the program or vice versa
AND/OR
Is anyone willing to contribute to this with a view in developing it into a decent general answer that would be helpful to others. ( especially for complete beginners)
Secondly I feel like dumping the internet and going out to buy a book.
I have accessed dozens of sites with small successes that end up in more confusion .
My objective is give the internet one last chance as a vehicle for the dissemination of information that is provided in an intelligent way, as opposed to a vehicle that disseminates shit.
Finally, I am not averse to learning an operating system, but neither do I want to get bogged down in an operating system when my final objective is to produce a piece of music.

What does the operating system ( windows 95,98 or NT) need so that I can stick a piece of analogue tape into my tape recorder and listen to music produced by myself.
OR
should I rather get an old 8 track multitrack analogue recorder and press track no, record and play.

Finally, a word of praise to the people who developed this site:
This has been the most intelligent and informative site that I have come across.

Thank You
Iqbal

Hi Iqbal,

Well, I'm happy to give you a hand:

Soundcard Spec: