DAW frustrations...

thercman

Well I am finally starting to work with DAWs on a serious level. I have downloaded the trial versions of Pro Tools HD11, FL Studio, Reaper and I own Calkwalk's Sonar LE and of course Audacity. Currently I am applying for the local college's audio engineering program and they teach Pro Tools so I have been concentrating on that. I must say this program is pissing me off. As a beginner I cannot even get it to record a decent quality vocal track for podcasting. First, I have had all kinds of issues getting the damn audio set up. It took two hours of filtering through YouTube videos to find the problems... With that taken care of I turn off my monitors, un-mute the mic and record a short vocal track. I mute the mic turn the monitors back on and play the recording. Beside the vocal you can here a definitive tick, tick, tick through the whole track. WTF?!? $699 for this crap? Then then next most expensive program, FL Studios also has audio interfacing issues. Audio set up is a royal pain just get it to record a vocal. However this program has other issues even worse than Pro Tools. In order to get the audio to play back through the mixer I have to push the stereo switch on and off for the USB channel depending on whether I am recording or playing back. Then when I do play the audio track it sounds like it was recorded in a large empty room (reverb) and if I up the volume it sounds like there is a serious feedback issue. It is unusable. (my studio is sound treated) I have no idea what the issue is. Since I am working on my podcasting I don't even use either of these two programs because it's impossible to record just a simple track.... With that said I have no issues with the other three programs. Using the same gear I simply launch the software, set up a track, record the vocal, do some noise reduction and its done. No audio interface issues, no weird artifacts or feedback in the audio, nothing. They work flawlessly. The set up am using is f