Help with my MS-16, Please.

q1w2e3r4

I've been using the machine for a few months. Nothing so heavy, two sessions, two tapes each, 15 IPS.

I was doing some overdubs a few days ago and noticed that the levels were getting lower on the machine's VU meters occasionally. I would notice a severe decrease in volume for a few seconds. Then it got more frequent. Now, when I put a tape on, the level plays at normal volume for a split second, then back down to being soft, and it stays there.

I clean the heads regularly and degaussed for the first time tonight and it's the same. Any ideas? How do you know when it's time for a re-lap or new heads?

Thanks much.

I have owned my MS16 for several years and been around the forums here and there for quite a while and I have never heard of any other MS16 users having this same problem.:(

If it is happening globally to all the tracks then the problem has to be something common to all the channels like somewhere on the motherboard that all 16 channel amp card plug into or in the power supply for the motherboard in the amplifier unit.

It's not the heads. They would degrade in frequency response and noise levels as they wear down and they wouldn't pop up and down in volume. At least I don't think they would?

Find a qualified service technician who has actual working experience on the machine and get an estimate!

What part of the planet are you from?

Good luck:)

I had similar problem recently with my MS-16. In my case it turned out to be the guide post just before the heads, the one with the set screw. The screw had come loose and the post would slowly drift enough to move the tape vertically on the heads. Check that the set screw is tight on that post.

Cheers
Kevin.

longsoughtfor said: