recording live drums

jasgav

I don't normally record live drums however my new band wants to make some demo tracks and not all of us can pony up the 1000 buck for a real studio. I have stuff to record guitars and keys and even vocals but I'm a complete newbie to live drums. I was thinking of picking up 2 dmp3. we already have mics between us mostly 57's everything goes into my delta 10/10 then into cakewalk for tracking and mixing. Is the dmp3's what I need for this?

As in everthing audio, by using the unit within its parameters and not asking it to do something its incapable of, you can make very decent sounding recordings with anything. If your room is a bit iffy, then finding ways to tame some of the problems goes a long ways to making the sounds better.

One thing to consider. The drums will easily show the problems in a recording environment. Its up to you, as the engineer, to correct those either by mic placement, gain staging at the console or preamps, or by sound control within the space. I suspect that all of these will be necessary.

Your 57's will do a very good job on drums though I would recommend a kik drum specific mic. A decent condenser out in the room will give you some 'size' to the kit, but will also record all the anomolies your room might have. Close micing all the kit will somewhat eliminate these anomolies but not all.

Office barriers with heavy packing blankets draped over them and placed around the room as well as around the kit (not too close! dont want to choke the set) will go a long ways to focusing the sound. While this is not the ideal room treatment, it is a great and cheap way to help an empty practice room/basement/storage space achieve a decent sound.

The rest is up to you. Placement and experimentation are crucial to getting good drums. Also, the choice of heads, tuning (cant emphasize that enough), and the weight and size of the cymbals also will determine the ease at which to arrive at a good sound.