midi tape sync box?? What kind, I am not sure

yetipur

Hello ,
I Know nothing about Midi, I am learning on the fly while making a record with our band. Situations rise and I am just trying to solve problems , I had no idea I needed anything midi until the problem presented itself.

I am scouring the forums and piecing together as much info on syncing and info on SMPTE as I can get, so please don't beat me up midi people, someone commented and called me a dumbass over in the rack section. :(

Uh, I think it says NEWBIE next to my name, and yeah I am when it comes to recording
I am a newbie when it comes to even asking questions about recording. :D
I hope I can word this properly enough for you meanies so you wont leave mean comments in response to my newbiness. :rolleyes:

Here's my deal. I am trying to record individual, separated drum parts from a zoom rt123drum machine onto separate tracks of a multi track tape recorder . Kick, snare, hh ect. one part per each track, like a real drum set.

I need a midi tape sync box right? Do I need anything else as well?
Is there an inexpensive solution or certain brand I should aim for? Is JL cooper PP52 okay?

Is it the type of equipment you can be frugal on, and still get something good? I just want to lay down the drum tracks so they are in time.

I was doing it manually track by track, recording the drum machine for awhile, but either I have lost my touch as far as lining everything up, or my tape is slowing down.