MIDI issues

mperdicho

Hi, Mark here. Just got X1 recently because Guitar tracks Pro didn't run with Win7. I love it so far but I'm having two specific problems that are making me a little nuts. I'm not MIDI master by any stretch but I've got two programs that have made it easier to deal with. A free program called MIDI player that plays MIDI files and I use an old Casio CTK 900 as a controller. Cheap, I know but I'm a guitarist and tend not to use keys too often. I also use Music Write Maestro partly because I'm a teacher and it makes for better study materials and because it will convert any file into MIDI format which I can then shunt through my MIDI player to my controller.

My first problem is that when I set up a soft synth in X1, there is a short delay between key press on the controller and the output sound. (The same is true with MIDI sent from my drum machine, a DR-660) Very disconcerting and renders it unable to use for live recording. Is this an X1 setting issue or is it a hardware issue? I'm using the M-Audio MIDISport 2x2 as my in/out device.

The other problem I'm having is a bit more complex but with the synth and MIDI options in X1, I thought I'd try to get a more layered track by adding some keys and synths to my older tracks. I want to import a MIDI track and have one of the soft synths play it back but I guess I just don't have something set right. This is a huge topic and it might be more than I should ask about but I'd really like to stretch a little since the X1 offers so much more than I'm used to with GT Pro.

I'm not a MIDI newbie but my knowledge is just enough to completely frustrate me when it doesn't work right. I would appreciate any help I can get. I really want to take as much advantage of X1 as I can to get more out of my recordings.

Thanks so much.

Try MIDI-OX and MIDI Yoke for Windows MIDI routing.

Do you mean Traktor X1 or Sonar X1?