Backing Tracks...

How comfortable are you with the use of MIDI?

• Very comfortable! Very Confident!

Votes: 8 57.1%
  • Mostly comfortable...

Votes: 1 7.1%
  • Not very. I avoid it if I can.

Votes: 5 35.7%
  • Not at all, I prefer Audio.

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

mari

Hi, I know this probably sounds like a stupid question to all you MIDI heads in here but here goes anyway...

I'm used to working with audio. My studios been up and running for a few months and a band have asked me to do their album for them. They use backing tracks whilst gigging and want me to use them in the album. Problem is, i've never worked with MIDI before. Sounds unbelieveable but there it is! I'm only in the recording business for about two years and I've avoided it up to now. The time has come to face up to it.

I'm using Digital Performer. Interface is a MOTU 2408. I need a MIDI Interface, right? I've got a Mac so something like a MidiSport 2 X 2?

Can anyone recommend some good reading on learning MIDI really quick?!

The band want to manipulate some of the MIDI tracks that they have. Like, they dont want the banjo on certain tracks! Or, they want more reverb on whatever...

Should I change everything into audio? Major confusion here!

Would appreciate any replies. Cheers!

Mari

Well your first and most important issue here is getting to know the gear that your customer is using. That will tell you how to do things. I would try to deal in audio anyway just for simplicity's sake. DP is a great MIDI program but there is no reason to learn all the MIDI functions if you can just record the tracks in audo. That's not to say there aren't advantages to using MIDI until the mix.

A few questions:
1. What hardware or software are they bringing backing tracks to you on...is is raw MIDI files? Do they use an MPX?
2. What are you mixing to? Tape, DAT or internally to drive?
3. How many tracks of MIDI are we talking about here for backing?