V67 or v77 for Double Bass?

Chris F

I've been recording Jazz duos for quite a while now, and thanks to the MXL 603's I bought, I'm getting some good sounds from the piano and guitar players I've been playing with...but my bass mic needs to be replaced. My...er....um..."financial advisor" has just approved a Large Diaphragm mic purchase, and I can afford either the MXL V67 or the V77. The sound I'm looking for can only be described as more "open" and "transparent" than the sound I'm getting now, which can (I hope) be found through the following link:

The sound on that recording isn't terrible, but it has a boomy resonance to certain notes and ranges of the instrument that I'd like to get rid of without sacrificing the ballsy sound my current mic gets out of the upper end of the range.

So does anybody have any suggestions about which mike will give me a better acoustic sound? I've never used a tube mic before and don't know if they color the sound a great deal, or in what way. Any advice will be appreciated.

Thanks.

Chris,

To my ear, the V77 sounds more "open, neutral, and transparent" than the V67G. The V67G has a slightly "warmer, thicker" sound by comparison.

I bought three V67Gs in spring this year, Harvey, based on your
comments, in your forum that you had on your web site, about the
V67`s sonics - I have never regretted my purchase. Based on
what you say now, Harvey, I don`t think I`ll need a tube based
mic for the time being. I think I`ll buy me some dynamic mikes and a Royer ribbon.
I also have two Crown DM700 electret-condensers and
two Audio-Technica 4049 omni condensers. (sometimes used with
a Jecklin Disc). I record mostly acoustic music like traditional Nor-
wegian music, or Folk music that we call it here, which isn`t Folk
music in the American meaning of the word - that is a more contemporary music, I think.

Ola

Harvey Gerst said:
Chris,