Let's sticky the FAQ...together!

Should the FAQ achieve 'sticky' status?

• Heck yea, let's help some newbies!

Votes: 30 96.8%
  • Nope, I'd rather tell newbies stuff myself!

Votes: 1 3.2%

• Total voters

grahamware

That FAQ Guy
OK folks, it's time to show your cards! Time to show your support (or lack thereof) in a push to make the FAQ a sticky.

Before you vote, make sure to take a look, so you're satisfied:

http://www.hr-faq.org

It's not totally finished, but...it's pretty nice. Read away.

C'mon Recording Engineer, you know you want to!

-GD

As a novice i can say the faq has helped me go from super retarded noob, to just a retarded noob. so umm yes i think it is good:)

Looks good, but as you say, incomplete. How about a section on phantom power and its effect on different type of mics?

Let's get it up there. It's valueble information for newbies and for people that forget a lot (like me!). Thanks for making it.

There is no way to teach everyone everthing in a FAQ, but that's why were here. I think this is a really good idea... not only will it educate people, but it will keep the channel cleaner as less people post questions that they should have researched the answers to...

Hey everyone! Looking good so far...and thanks for taking a look!

crazydoc, I'll put up something on phantom power, but it won't be great - I can research, but I don't personally know too much on its effect on different mics - only the answer to the common newb question: WILL PHANTOM POWER HURT MY DYNAMIC? If you or anyone else would like to write something up, please go ahead! It would help a lot!

Everyone really should check out giganova's contribution - excellent work. Read "I want to record a saxophone. What mic should I use?" in MIC BUYING.

Hopefully this will make more people interested in writing something for the FAQ!

-Graham

grahamware said: