tool bass sound

crosswind

anyone know what he uses? im a drummer so this is out of my area really.. but i am doing some tracking and i was just curious how i could get that type of bass sound. its really got a life of its own i think. Like steve steven's sound does. How does one go about getting that signature sound? I usually just DI and live mic my bass tracks, then pre and compress them some. Some light EQ at times, all depending on the situation of course, those are all interchangeable. Lets open up. Tell me how u get ur bass sounds! While we're at it. I always wondered how to get that BIG BASS SOUND. u know with the smooth low end that just glides through the mix , and yet. that kick drum is still right there. I imagine its done with some gating?

i love Tool and listen then them a lot.

i especially like the Bass on Sober.

but as good as the Bass is IMO Danny's an absolutely great Drummer. i love the way he uses his Snare Drum without the Snares on.

I would reccomend trying a Bass Pod from Line 6. I have the guitar version and they are great for getting a lot of different tones for under $250.

From Justin Chancellor himself:

"On a couple of songs I used a slightly different gauge on the bottom strings-a .110 E for the thicker tone, a little less ambient string sound, and more crunch. Most of the songs are in drop D tuning, the rest in standard. Overall, though, I don't think it's changed too much-there's more of the ambient stuff, and the effects have become more experimental. Sometimes I just turned everything on, rode the Wal's volume knob, and let it feed back.

I like to play with the parameters of different pedals. On the title
track, there's a middle section where the band breaks down to
nothing. I started with my flanger all flat, and then I played with