Tele EMG mod

gritzy

This is along the lines of the last thread (knowing a guitar) but I'm looking for some specific advice on a mod that I am planning on getting done to my electric. To begin with, someone in that thread mentioned a friend who was a skilled player but wouldn't even go so far as to change his own strings. Well, I change my own strings, but I didn't even start doing that until I'd been playing for three or four years, and that's currently about as far as my knowledge extends. So this mod will be done by a trained professional. Anyway, on to the mod...

I have a circa mid-eighties Japanese Telecaster with a custom pickup arrangement of S/S/H (dunno the brand of p-ups). I've been playing the guitar for about five years now and I'm pretty comfortable with it. I like the way it plays and the tone is decent, but I'm not all that impressed with the electronics. While the tone is ok, it lacks some consistency; a little murky in the lows and something...the volume or presence or something...changes between each range. I can't seem to work these discrepencies out with my amp's EQ and the tone knob on the guitar is useful only from like the 8.5 to 10 section of the dial. I've been able to deal with these things for as long as I've had the guitar, but now I have the proper funds and the interest to make a change.

So I'm planning to upgrade to EMGs to give me a little boost and some consistency in my tone. Here's my proposal. I think I want the EMG-FT in the neck, a EMG-RT in the middle, and maybe an 81 in the bridge for a humbucker. Contrary to what someone said in the "How well do you know your guitar" thread, I'm a Tele owner who isn't all that concerned with "that Tele sound." I just want sweet tone with some bite.