strat pickups

reco

Hey all I have a am strat and would like to know what experiances poeple have had with single coil sized humbuckers, I need a phater sound but dont want to buy a gibson because of cost.

I would not recommend Lace Sensors; very bland. In fact I took mine out and replaced them with Fury pickups. The improvement was huge. An alternative as someone else suggested is Seymour Duncan--I had a Hot Rail in the bridge position for a while and this was as fat as it gets.

A few years ago I bought a Strat- I guess it's now considered a "Strat Plus", outfitted
with the Lace Sensor pickups, which to me deliver a great strat sound without the noise of traditional single coil pickups. Check out Seymour Duncan pickups too; I think they have a stacked double coil that fits in a single-coil cavity but I can't comment further because I've never heard how they sound. Good luck.

Reco, I've been using a seymour Duncan hotrails for a few years now in my strat it's got a pretty toasty sound to it, check em out.

[This message has been edited by David (edited 04-05-2000).]

I came close to replacing my pickups with a set of Duncans. They have a lot of good info on their web site, plus they also sell a CD that has samples of all their pickups. Being able to hear the pickups you're interested in is a big help, so I'd recommend doing that somehow. If you can't then make sure you like the company's return policy (and Duncan has a good one).