Adding Insulation to a Cab

Walt-Dogg

So I'm thinking of adding some fiberglass insulation to my Sunn 412L. What will adding insulation to this over-sized cab do? I'm trying to reduce [perceived] bass response from the cab and accordingly I recently installed casters to the cab (which helped). The cab is just incredibly bassy due to it's size, so will adding fiberglass (or anything better) insulation to the interior walls of the cab add or reduce bass response? And yes I am a newb to this sort of thing.

Try to get it off the floor, put a few crates or books under it so the amp is off the ground. I made a little wood (mdf) box, about 120mm high, now the room doesnt vibrate or make annoying bassy noises.

I did this years ago to all of my bass cabs to try and get a punchyer tone and it did seam to help some but in the long run I just got an Ampeg V4 (4x10) cab - the little brother to the 8x 10 cab and that was the sound I was looking for all along.;)

:cool:

Walt - It's counterintuitive, but stuffing your cab with insulation will result in an effective increase in interior volume, which would extend the low-frequency response of the speakers. I don't think that's what you're looking for.

Walt - It's counterintuitive, but stuffing your cab with insulation will result in an effective increase in interior volume, which would extend the low-frequency response of the speakers. I don't think that's what you're looking for.
All I needed to know. Thanks!

I'd consider replacing speakers, but 1.) They're the original Sunn Transducers, 2.) I don't have the money.

I've raised the cab as much as possible, put it on casters, got a crate under it. Except now it's just blasting my face because I'm right in front of it and it's not facing the lower half of my body so all I'm hearing now are different frequencies.