Minidisc 8-track

chozen

I'm just curious if anyone has any recommendations on buting a multi track recorder? I've seen the MD-4/8 from Yamaha and fell in Love with it. I think my love is slightly one sided however because I have a thing for minidiscs... The purpose of the equipment needed: Space saving; durability; recording time, sound quality; to serve a dual function as co-director of mastering functions @ home
I'm fairly new to the equipment realm & would really appreciate the help.

Chozen

What are you comparing to the MD format? Are you interested in a PC-based system, a dedicated HD standalone, an ADAT or a Scully 1/2" tape deck? Each of these <can> sound better than MD, but MD is mighty convenient.
I'm coming from a PC-based environment; what makes the MD desirable for you, and what MD recorder have you worked with?

I know the ADAT is expensive and somewhat impractical for space & transportation. i've used it once before and was pleased with the sound. The performance was slightly annoying i.e-starting recording; Tape changes; but these things are all relative to setup and what you're willing to put up with..If I had two ADAT's in a chain it should make it much easier and so on and so forth. I'm not quite sure what a 1/2" tape deck is though? My minidisc recorder is normal-- a Sony. Another option could be a stand alone HD but again I'm not quite sure what avenues are available to me in this arena. Someone was telling me about a fostex digital console but what about hard drive space. 3 hrs recording time is standard. In the end, these are all factors I'm looking for to make a smart decision. My environment could be classified as PC based as I do most if not all of my projects on computer.