HELP!! Midi/Audio Interface Newbie Confusion...

MikeyTen4

Hi, I've just joined this forum and I've got a feeling you might be my saving grace over the coming months and years. I'm starting to build up a home studio. I've been DJing for around 10 years now, had some minor production experience in the past, and even studied music at university - part business, part production & performance. I've got firends who have been producing for ages and whilst I've played around with their gear I'm only just in a position to start shopping myself. Problem is I really need a guiding hand when it comes to putting a suitable package together.

I'm running Cubase SX 2 on a Sony Vaio Laptop (Pentium 4 2.8GHz, 512mb RAM, loads of HD space internally & externally) and I'm looking at producing Drum & Bass and Breakbeat music primarily. I'm lookin at a fairly basic set up to start me off with most elements being software based. My biggest hurdle at the moment seems to be choosing a good interface which will suit my needs and work well on my chosen platform.

I've taken a look around and also had some brief advice already, and so far it seems to be a choice between...

- Tascam US122 (http://www.dv247.com/invt/16189)
- Behringer B-Control Audio BCA2000 (http://www.dv247.com/invt/21928)

Because of the music I'm focussing on live recording isn't a high priority, but it would be nice to have the capability. The BCA2000 is USB2.0, whereas the Tascam is just USB 1.1 and I have been wondering if that could cause latency problems later on? The Tascam also specifies any easy Direct Monitoring switch which could be useful to me since I might end up having my decks routed through the whole shebang for recording mixes... but then latency issues come up again of course!