When mixing down before mastering

geraci89

Hey everyone, Im relatively new to mixing and am working on my bands first project.

I know that it is recommended to leave roughly -3 to -6 db of headroom when mixing down. On a few of these songs, the majority of the instruments stay within these boundaries but there will be the odd snare or kick hit that starts jumping into my headroom cushion and sometimes clips.

I have a good overall mix with some of these songs but again some parts are pushing the limits. Is it ok to just turn down the master fader to ensure nothing clips? or do I need to go back and turn every single fader down??

Thanks in advance :)

I'm assuming you're mixing on a DAW? If so, and if it's just a stray snare or kick hit, I would try to turn down just those couple of hits on the individual snare and kick tracks themselves. On DAW's this is typically done by using a volume envelope. Look up how to do it on your system.

If you're not on a DAW, then forget what I wrote. :)

I would leave a lot more headroom than 3 to-6db. The fact that ANYTHING is clipping means you're mixing too hot. Also, the fact that anything is clipping means you're not really leaving 3 to 6 db headroom. You're leaving as much headroom as your highest clip, which is zero headroom.

You could never leave too much headroom. My tracks PEAK at -10 to -12 usually. They average way lower than that. I'm not saying that just because I do that, you should too. But I've learned that there's no such thing as a track being too low before mastering.

In your case, if you like the mix other than the level, just turn all your faders down 6db or so. You'll have lots of headroom and won't have to worry about anything clipping.

In your case, if you like the mix other than the level, just turn all your faders down 6db or so. You'll have lots of headroom and won't have to worry about anything clipping.