What are the tone differences in the D112 & Shure Beta 52A?

nuemes

Be Here Now
What are the tone differences in the D112 & Shure Beta 52A? Please only respond if you had experience with both kick mics.

Would you use one mic for one style of music and the other for another, etc? If so what do you base that decision on?

i'm also interested in this. i'm sure it's been covered and i'm still digging through the archives(i'm pretty new to the recording game) but a kick mic is high on my list of priorities.

Beta 52s go poomph and D112s go oomph. I would investigate the Audix D6 and D4 as well, they're nice and modern sounding.

In the end, mic placement makes more of a difference than anything...Although from my experience, I can get as good a thumpy bass with a D112 as I can with an SM58 with placement variation. If you want presence, the 52 is good, but the D6 beats it's pants off. The 52 is more balanced, I think.

The D112 placed inside the drum a couple inches from the batter head will get you a sond that you can shape into just about anything you need.

The Beta 52 likes to be placed just inside the hole in the front head. It will give you the boom and tick kind of sound.

Farview said:
The D112 placed inside the drum a couple inches from the batter head will get you a sond that you can shape into just about anything you need.

The Beta 52 likes to be placed just inside the hole in the front head. It will give you the boom and tick kind of sound.

I say that is a good, simply stated assessment. +1

Of the two, I lean towards and prefer the D112.

Id go with what ever you can find the best deal on....though they are both very different mics, and you HAVE to use different micing techniques, they are both versitile enough to use in most cases...

thajeremy said:
Id go with what ever you can find the best deal on....though they are both very different mics, and you HAVE to use different micing techniques, they are both versitile enough to use in most cases...