Vocal Sample

artdamage

(this is re-copied from another thread, hopefully it belongs here as well...)

https://homerecording.com/bbs/showthread.php?t=309779

hey all. if you could read the following post in its entirety and let me know what i should do i'd be very very thankful.

i've been recording and writing my first full-length record for the last three months, and today i've been stumped by this road block. the vocal part attached below sounds great, (and it's distorted on purpose, mind you) but during and more notably, after each phrase in the vocal line one can hear a wave of unwanted high frequency distortion. i have not been able to get rid of it without sacrificing EQ.

i'm thinking i should use noise removal of some sort. i also do not want to change anything about the process of recording it, i have a deadline.

here's what i'm using.

-dell laptop
-alesis multimix 8 usb 2.0 mixer
-m-audio black box guitar processor for the vocals
-a quality studio mic

i'm using MixCraft to mix and record. i DO NOT want to apply the distortion in studio. it's impossible to get this exact tonality and distortion with MixCraft, believe me i've tried.

if anyone has effects in mind I highly prefer VST's, they work well in MixCraft. the vocal is attached at below.

any / all help is greatly appreciated!

Attachments

• Rig Vocal.mp3
    272.7 KB · Views: 24
or you'd be better trying yourself..as me doing it wouldnt be showing you

Whats is happening is the noise floor is too high so after the vocal diminishes all your hearing is the noise...put the gate vst on the track and adjust the theshhold so that the vocal comes through then the gate comes in taking away the noise after it

Its not difficult and you should get results with very little experimentation :)

or you'd be better trying yourself..as me doing it wouldnt be showing you