vocal frustrations

tigerotool

i'm an amatuer producer. i play guitar, bass, keyboard and program drums and synths on my computer and they all sound good clean and professional. sometimes i have people from my church come over and record songs they wrote. i have an oktava 219 and i thought i'd get a second mic and upgrade to a 319. i try and use them with stuff i make and it just doesn't sound good compared to everything else. it either sounds like an old dusty record or an answering machine. i bought the 319 and they wouldn't let me return it after wasting a weekend trying to get it to sound good; stupid health code. so i'm thinking of just selling the mics on ebay along with 2 20 ft xlr cables, a shockmount for the 319 and a popper stopper and just starting from scratch. i don't want oktavas since no 2 oktava's sound exactly alike cause of lousy quality control and who wants to grab a handful of oktava's and see which one is the best.

after that i'm thinking of getting a studio projects c1 and maybe the studio projects pre-amp. i also could just plug the mic straight into the mixer.

does this sound like a good idea?

basically i plug everything into a behringer mixer and from the mixer it goes into my delta 44 soundcard. for drums keys and synths i use fl studio. for guitar and bass i use behringer v-amps.

any help would be appreciated. i'm kind of on a limited budget right now.

tigerotool said: