Trying to turn tube

TheBones

Hey guys looking for some advice. I'm tired of my modeling amp and I'm looking to buy my first tube amp. Using it mainly for home studio use. I've looked a lot at the micro terror by orange and I love their products but I've also read some good reviews on the vox lil night train mini stack and a epiphone valve junior mini stack. They keep showing up in my price range. I'm sort of partial to the orange but Im really hesitant to get the paired 1x8 cab. I'm thinking I'll want a 1x12. Not sure what would be a good match. Any body have any experience with any of these amps? Any thouhts

I didn't like the Valve Jr when I had it, so turned it around to get a Vox ac4tv. I like this amp a lot for recording purposes and it's done well being mic'd at gigs. I never tried the Orange Micro Terror but you might want to take a look at the Tiny Terror sometime. It has a really badass crunch tone, though the clean sound was not to my liking.

I have no experience with the other amps you've mentioned, unfortunately. I've seen a ton of stuff online for mods for the Valve Jr and apparently these mods really help to lower the noise of the amp and open up the tone.

Hated the valve JR as well. It always sounded like there was a blanket over it, and I was using a nice cabinet with it.

Have only played the terror, JCA20H, Blackheart, and night train.

The terror was good, the JCA was really good (for the price), the blackheart was a solid meh, and I thought the train was a bit thin sounding.

It would be good to note that I was not using matching cabs for any of them though, the JCA was through a 2X12 with vintage 30s, and all the others were through a marshall 1960a because that was all that was available.

I really want that JCA head though, it sounded really good. The choice is going to depend heavily on what you play though.