The Beatles Mixing............?

Feanor IV

Hello,

I was checking out the mixing in some Beatles recordings the other day ("Rubber Soul", "Revolver" and some more stuff from that period), and noticed that they tend to have the lead vocals almost entirely on the right and the rhythm guitars on the left. The backing vocals typically go with the leads, except for the "ooohs" and "aaahs" which go on the other side. I am totally new to the whole thing, so I was wondering if this is typical in mixing, or if it was of that decade or if it's just what the Beatles & their producers liked! :)

Cheers & thanks!

Menelaos

Actually, it was more likely an error during mastering..... stereo was just becoming more popular and it may have been that a mastering engineer misinterpreted a recording intended to be released mono....

It is also possible that it was intentional, and was a consequence of the consoles of the time not having PAN control, but rather only left/right/center switches, for each channel......

Either way, it is generally accepted in modern mixing that a well-balanced soundstage between the speakers is best practice. (Try listening to a lop-sided mix on headphones - it tends to be very disconcerting - especially with a bass panned to one side... awful!)

Blue Bear Sound said:
Actually, it was more likely an error during mastering..... stereo was just becoming more popular and it may have been that a mastering engineer misinterpreted a recording intended to be released mono....

It is also possible that it was intentional, and was a consequence of the consoles of the time not having PAN control, but rather only left/right/center switches, for each channel......

Either way, it is generally accepted in modern mixing that a well-balanced soundstage between the speakers is best practice. (Try listening to a lop-sided mix on headphones - it tends to be very disconcerting - especially with a bass panned to one side... awful!)