Solid Guitar for Beginner

PhiloBeddoe

I am giving lessons to a neighbor kid whose parents are ready to buy him his first electric guitar. They'd like me to give a recommendation but I have absolutely no idea about anything in the low end of the market.

Any recommendations on a decent inexpensive beginner electric?

The only criteria I can think of is that it stays in tune. He doesn't know enough to care about humbucker vs. single coil and is not familiar with any brands. We're talking total beginner here.

What's the budget?

I'd say a mexi-Strat. Lock the tremelo down, it'll be fine.

Yamaha Pacifica maybe. They really are damn good. Great, in fact.

Plenty of people love their Squiers too.

My friend recently bought his son a squier tele. His guitar teacher recomended one. It makes sense. They're not too heavy, pretty rugged, and simple.

This is a tricky question to answer. A guitar for a beginner is a gamble because of the possibility of loss of interest and money, so a $3000.00 ES335 is obviously not a good choice. However, most cheapo 'beginner' guitars play like crap which increases the difficulty level for the student almost guaranteeing loss of interest due to frustration. Your best bet is to go to a music store with the kid and his family and help him pick out a playable guitar in the price range of the parents (make sure that they understand that a piece of crap will probably end up ignored by the student). Many guitars in the beginner range only require a decent setup to become very playable guitars.

The bottom line is that anything in the beginner range, should be played by an experienced player before purchase, because the range of quality and playability from one to the other is huge.

+1 for yamaha pacifica. very solid guitar for the price. h/s/s pickups would allow him to cover all styles.