So what is required in any serious guitar collection

juststartingout

What axes do you collectors/players think is needed in any good guitar collection.

In any collection I think a Les Paul and a strat are required.

For a serious collection I think you need some vintage Gibsons and Fenders.

Depends on if you're going to be playing them or just having them to look cool, then we can help you more. SG's and telecasters are also pretty famous if thats what you're going for.

I would never buy a guitar just to have it.If it does'nt serve my needs then
my money is better spent elsewhere.
I think the best collection would be to have guitars that are useful to the
style(s) you like,and that feel good in your hand,because that will inspire
you to play the best that you can.
If I recorded for a living I would have a much more versitile collection of
guitars and amps,because that would serve my customers needs,which in
turn would serve mine.

The absolute basics? A good Strat, Tele, and Les Paul. I have a lot of custom guitars as well as a couple of PRS...my custom Thorns and Gretz slay all the others playing wise. BUT...nothing else sounds exactly like a good LP or Tele or Strat...IYKWIM

Ultimate guitar collection addition...
PRS McCarty Single Cutaway Classic. Period.
I really feel for you if you havent gotten one yet, because they're discontinued for looking like Les Pauls too much... Gibson sued PRS and won, ain't that a bitch :(
I've had mine for a while now, and love it ot pieces, I'll post pics... It's silver / white engravings / designs.

I'd have to agree with SheppardB, but what the hell is the fun in a collection if you actually use them? I think when he says collection, he means all of the classics to hang on your wall :)

Graham2017 said:
Ultimate guitar collection addition...
PRS McCarty Single Cutaway Classic. Period.