respraying an old outboard unit? any advice?

cjacek

Analogue Enthusiast
Hi,

I have this old outboard rack mount reverb unit that I was going to get rid of due to its cosmetic condition and a few other faults but then I started to think about ways to possibly refurbish it. It's got bad scratches, not on the face or back but on every other side. I was thinking of covering up the face, back and power cord (with plastic and the green painter's tape) and taking it to some car body shop place to have them respray it. What would something like this typically cost? Is this a good idea? Any thoughts? I've never done this before so...... any advice where to go and whatnot would be helpful. The unit is all metal, the typical black color that they used in most 80's rack gear.

Thanks! :)

I would think full dis-assembly of the parts in question to be repainted would be the superior way to go about doing something like that. Masking off areas not to be painted seems risky to me because of the masking job isn't 100% perfect, you'll end up with over spray or spotty lines if the tape doesn't adhere 100% to the surfaces.

Not sure what a pro paint shop would charge to do the individual pieces but I'm sure a couple of calls to the local body shops would clear that up.

Good luck with the project! :)

Cheers :)

A couple of things:

Do you have it in a rack? You say that the face is OK, if so, and it is in a rack whats the gripe?

If its not in a rack and the face is in good condition, why not consider a small rack unit to mount it in?

Last but not least. I can see masking the rear panel and front panel and shooting the rest with a rattle can. Light light coats are the key. There is a huge range of paint in cans out there that will closely match what ever finish is currently on there.