Recording drums - bass drum SO QUIET in my IEM

Shadow1psc

Hello all, I hope this is a good place to put this.

I'm getting into making music in my garage, and I have a fairly sophisticated setup I'd say for someone who is 'just starting out'. I have a 7 piece drum kit and a whopping 10 mics feeding into my Scarlett 18i20 (paired with a Behringer Ultragain ADA 8000 for extra inputs). I'm a competent musician, I know how to make sure I'm building a good sound from the ground up (starting with proper care of the drums, proper tuning, proper placement, and proper technique), and everything sounds magical directly from the mics to my IEMs (Shure SE 215s), except I can't hear my kick. Every channel is set to +0 db, I'm not adding any gain to any of the mics, I figure drums are already loud enough, and in fact, the Focusrite gear came with 'Scarlett Mix Control' so I could tweak this for this very reason.

So I set up a separate mix for my IEM output, and even after cranking the bass drum mic channel (an Audix D6 mic) and knocking every other mic down -5 db (and turning OFF the room mics in the mix), the bass drum is still too low. If I crank up the input gain on the channel between +5 and +10, it finally cuts through everything, but at this point I've cranked the channel output on the interface to my IEM almost max to get a listenable level. In contrast, when playing along to stuff for fun, I have to turn iTunes or Spotify almost completely down. If I turn the rest of the kit down in post to my IEMs, not only does it start to make each channel sound like crud, but then I hit a floor where the drums are too quiet for even the lowest volume setting in iTunes.